PHISH Updates: Festival 8 info/site & “Joy” cover art/release date/track list


So now that all of the ridiculous map bullshit is over and people can finally sleep without wondering if they have to cancel their plans or if they should have never canceled them in the first place, PHISH and their fans, who got sucked into the brilliantly deployed marketing scheme, are finally able to get down to business.   The band has created a website for their latest festival and have broken down the details that so many have been anxiously awaiting.  The boys have also released new information regarding an alternate release date and track list for for their upcoming album ” JOY“, as well as the cover art.  I’m tired of writing about this shit, so I’m gonna just let the press release do all of the talking for me.



We’re thrilled to announce Festival 8, a three-day Phish festival which will take place on October 30th, 31st and November 1st at the Empire Polo Club in Indio, California. With lush green fields and palm trees, and surrounded by vistas of California’s majestic Santa Rosa mountains, the festival site is simply breathtaking. And for the first time ever, Phish will combine two of its most cherished traditions – a multi-day camping festival and performing on Halloween – in a glorious three-day celebration.

Keeping the tradition of past Halloween shows, Phish will don a musical costume on Halloween night and cover another band’s album. The tradition began on Halloween 1994 with Phish covering The Beatles’ The White Album. In subsequent years, they covered The Who’s Quadrophenia, Talking Heads’ Remain in Light and the Velvet Underground’s Loaded.

The band will play eight sets over the course of three days, and as with all past Phish festivals, fans will enjoy on-site camping, numerous attractions and art installations throughout the weekend.

Tickets for Festival 8 will go on sale Monday, July 27th at 10AM Pacific Time for $199 + $1 WaterWheel Donation (plus applicable service fees) via This includes entry for all 3 days into the event area. All vehicles entering the Car Camping area must also purchase a $15 Vehicle Pass. Limited Car Camping is available. Gates will open for the event at NOON on Thursday, October 29th. Capacity is limited, so advance ticket purchase and carpooling is strongly encouraged.

We’ve created an official Festival 8 website at, where you can find exhaustingly detailed information about the event. We’ve posted the first wave of information about the festival and plan to update it regularly as more details are confirmed. Complete information, including a listing of different travel packages, is available at now at


PHISH Joy cover art

Joy, Phish’s first studio album in five years, will now be released on September 8th instead of the previously announced date. The album was recorded in New York City this spring with producer Steve Lillywhite.

Pre-order details for Joy will be announced next week, so stay tuned to

Here’s the tracklist:

  1. Backwards Down The Number Line (5:37)
  2. Stealing Time From The Faulty Plan (4:40)
  3. Joy (4:24)
  4. Sugar Shack (4:04)
  5. Ocelot (3:36)
  6. Kill Devil Falls (5:29)
  7. Light (5:02)
  8. I Been Around (1:57)
  9. Time Turns Elastic (13:30)
  10. Twenty Years Later (5:03)

Dead C

Located in Seattle, Dead C is the founder/editor, as well as the principal writer and photographer, of Monster Fresh. Creating the site in 2007, he did so with a specific dream in mind. Unfortunately, being a muscle relaxer-fueled fever dream, it's hard to recall all of the details. "I remember that my mom was there, but it wasn't actually her in the dream, it was actually 70s heart throb, Jan Michael Vincent. And everything took place here, in this room... but it wasn't actually here... it was different. The colors were washed out and, for some reason, there was a raccoon kicking it with us and it was wearing a holographic monocle."

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Flickr - YouTube