Mac DeMarco Announces This Old Dog LP, w/a Pair Of Singles & US Tour

photo by Coley Brown

At 26, Los Angeles-based Canadian export, Mac DeMarco has already proven himself to be fairly prolific.  He may not have released a proper full-length studio album since the critically acclaimed Salad Days in 2014, but within that time he’s put out the Salad Days Demos, and his mini-LP, Another One, which was then followed by the limited edition record store day exclusive, Another (Demo) One.  He’s also released over a dozen 7-inches, many of which were part of his Wonderful World Of Mac Demarco singles box, played an endless number of festivals worldwide, and made a major relocation to the west coast from QueensNew York.  Permeating an air of consistent relaxation, yet never showing any signs of slowing down, the multi-instrumentalist/producer/singer/songwriter has just announced a brand new album titled, This Old Dog, with a release date slated for May 5th of this year.  Along with the news comes a pair of singles, a full US tour, and a couple of different pre-order options.

It was the LA move that not only informed the sound on This Old Dog, but played a role in its development and release time.  DeMarco offers the following insight about the new album, “I demoed a full album, and as I was moving to the West Coast I thought I’d get to finishing it quickly.  But then I realized that moving to a new city, and starting a new life takes time.  Usually I just write, record, and put it out; no problem.  But this time, I wrote them and they sat.  When that happens, you really get to know the songs. It was a different vibe.

Speaking of writing some of the demos on an acoustic guitar and approaching these recordings from a slightly different angle, Mac explains, “The majority of this album is acoustic guitar, synthesizer, some drum machine, and one song is electric guitar. So this is a new thing for me.”  Adding, “This is my acoustic album, but it’s not really an acoustic album at all.  That’s just what it feels like, mostly.  I’m Italian, so I guess this is an Italian rock record.

One thing that I’ve noticed about Mac DeMarco is his remarkable appeal that has the ability to reach across generations and demographics, his smooth jams and trademark style undeniably unique, yet universal.  Most of his performances that I’ve witnessed have taken place in clusters, catching him at festivals where he’s done multiple sets in a span of days.  In fact, I’ve even seen him perform multiple times within the same day, at least twice, and every single show was still completely in-the-moment and entirely different.  There’s an enviable balance that DeMarco seems to have mastered, one where he exudes the quintessential slacker good time vibe, while simultaneously writing and recording all of his work himself, and injecting it with both honesty and substance.  The only other name that comes to mind off the type of my head that can pull out a musically impressive live show with a fuck it attitude, stay humble, and remain consistently prolific and focused on the music first and foremost, would be someone like Stephen Malkmus.

These first 2 singles (above) also appear as the first two tracks on This Old Dog, and are prime examples of what a naturally genuine songwriter DeMarco has the potential to be.  When you hear them, it’s clear that he’s writing from a place of personal truth and reflection, with the title track addressing maintenance and battling complacency in long-term relationships, and “My Old Man,” finding him acknowledging his own growth, while noticing attributes of himself that mirror that of his father.  To some, Mac might project the perception of someone that’s always ready to party, or simply pushing out casual, almost effortless, little tunes here and there, but anyone that reduces his work to something so basic, really isn’t paying much attention.  These new songs are prime examples of where his strengths truly lie, by exhibiting a strong level of personal awareness and an ability to take time to pause, examine oneself, and pull out the nuances from our every day situations, routines, and identities that we’ve become so accustomed to.  To then be able to wrap all of that into a an easily digestible tune, feels almost like food; and offering more than a product crafted for sale.  That being said, it is for sale, and there are already a few different pre-order options available.  Peep those out below and then check the tour dates at the bottom.


PRE-ORDER OPTIONS

Those looking for a physical copy of the album can pick it up on cassette, CD, or vinyl directly from the label, Captured Tracks, by clicking HERE.  Also available is the special edition vinyl release (pictured above) that comes with alternative gatefold cover art, a “mystery poster” and colored “ombre vinyl.”  The special edition is limited to a run of only 4,000 copies.

Another physical option is the indie record store exclusive color vinyl variant, which you can pre-order from Newbury Comics now with an autographed poster while supplies last.

For those looking for a digital option, “all iTunes pre-orders come with Instrumentals of This Old Dog and instant grat downloads of lead singles, “My Old Man,” and “This Old Dog.””  You can get that through HERE.


This Old Dog Tracklist

This Old Dog Tracklisting:
1. My Old Man
2. This Old Dog
3. Baby You’re Out
4. For the First Time
5. One Another
6. Still Beating
7. Sister
8. Dreams From Yesterday
9. A Wolf Who Wears Sheeps Clothes
10. One More Love Song
11. On the Level
12. Moonlight on the River
13. Watching Him Fade Away


Moore Theatre (Seattle) – 2015

Tour Dates

Fri. March 3 – Okeechobee, FL @ Okeechobee Music & Arts Festival
Fri. March 24 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Festival
Sat. March 25 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Festival
Fri. Apr. 14 – Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival
Fri. Apr. 21 – Indio, CA @ Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival
Tue. May 9 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Burlington *
Thu. May 11 – Montreal, QB @ Metropolis *
Sat. May. 13 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Theater *
Sun. May. 14 – Royal Oak, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre *
Mon. May. 15 – Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues – Cleveland *
Tue. May. 16 – Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre *
Wed. May. 17 – Nashville, TN @ Marathon Music Works *
Fri. May. 19 – Sun. May 21 – Gulf Shores, AL @ Hangout Music Festival at Gulf Shores Beach
Sat. May. 20 – Atlanta, GA @ The Tabernacle *
Sun. May. 21 – Asheville, NC @ Highland Brewing Company *
Mon. May. 22 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Small’s Theater *
Tue. May. 23 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
Fri. May 26  – Sun. May 28 – Allston, MA @ Boston Calling Music Festival at Harvard Athletic Fields
Tue. May 30 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton – Sold Out
Wed. May 31 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton
Fri. June 2 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sun. June 4 – New York, NY @ Governor’s Ball at Randall’s Island Park
Wed. Aug. 9 – Copenhagen, DK @ Den Graa Hal
Thu. Aug. 10 – Oslo, NO @ Oya Festival
Fri. Aug. 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Way Out West
Sun. Aug. 13 – Prague, CZ @ Meet Factory
Mon. Aug. 14 – Budapest, HU @ Sziget Festival
Tue. Aug. 15 – Vienna, AT @ Arena
Fri. Aug. 18 – Biddinghuizen, NE @ Lowlands Festival
Sun. Aug. 20 – Saint Malo, FR @ La Route du Rock
Wed. Aug. 23 – Zurich, CH @ Zurich Open Air Festival
Tue. Aug. 29 – Newcastle, UK @ The Academy
Wed. Aug. 30 – Edinburgh, UK @ Usher Hall
Fri. Sep. 8 – Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theater
Sat. Sep. 9 – Portland, OR @ Oregon Zoo Amphitheatre
Sun. Sep. 10 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
Tue. Nov. 7 – Hamburg, DE @ Grunspan
Wed. Nov. 8 – Berlin, DE @ Astra
Fri. Nov. 10 – Cologne, DE @ Kantine
Wed. Nov. 22 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street
Thu. Nov. 30 – Amsterdam, NE @ Paradiso

* = with Tonstartssbandht

Dead C

Located in Seattle, Dead C is the founder/editor, as well as the principal writer and photographer, of Monster Fresh. Creating the site in 2007, he did so with a specific dream in mind. Unfortunately, being a muscle relaxer-fueled fever dream, it's hard to recall all of the details. "I remember that my mom was there, but it wasn't actually her in the dream, it was actually 70s heart throb, Jan Michael Vincent. And everything took place here, in this room... but it wasn't actually here... it was different. The colors were washed out and, for some reason, there was a raccoon kicking it with us and it was wearing a holographic monocle."

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Flickr - YouTube