Phish announces Free Hampton Downloads and Setlist


If you’re like me, then you live on the West Coast, have created some semblance of a life for yourself since Aug. of 2004, and, when Phish announced that their reunion would again start with a run in Hampton, VA and remain on the Eastern portion of the country you thought, “Fuck this.  I’ll just wait for them to come to me this time“.  If you’re like me, then the idea of Phish performing at Bonnaroo is a bit confusing and you foresee the possible issue’s with trying to cram everyone and their baby’s mama’s cousin, who went to the festival to see The Decemberists or The Yeah Yeah Yeahs but feels that they should “probably see Phish” into a relatively small area, that is not equipped to deal with the crowd’s size or varying attitudes.  If you’re like me, you’re 3 fourths apathetic and 1 fourth not so secretly bitter and envious.  This is why, if you are like me, the band’s latest announcement to give away free downloads of the 3 night Hampton performances is pretty awesome.

I went to and noticed that it had a complete face-lift.  I’m not even sure how to get beyond the front page, which has a sole focus on updating their “phans” about their reunion and step by step movements on the current tour.  There’s a sign up to receive email updates and links to their official Facebook, Myspace, and Twitter accounts.  There was also a much smaller link that read “Download Free MP3s” so I clicked it and it took me to a post that read this.

Says Trey Anastasio, “We really wanted to show our gratitude to all the Phish fans for their support and the overwhelming response they’ve had to these shows. It’s going to be an amazing celebration and we only wish everybody could be there,” Phish will be recording the Hampton shows in a mobile multitrack studio, and mixing the shows overnight for immediate delivery on 256kbps MP3s will be available for free download for a limited time. FLACs and CDs are also available.

All 3 of the new HAMPTON shows are available for pre-order right now and, if you sign up for the MP3 versions via the pre-order you will not be charged shit for them.  I obviously haven’t heard tonights show yet but, it looks like they came back and started this off pretty hard.  They kicked their return off with “Fluffhead” which they teased the fuck out of on their last tour but refused to ever play.  The set lists are below and, to sign up for the Free Show pre-order and/or download the shows, click the links that are listed next to each setlist.

Hampton Coliseum
FRIDAY MARCH 6th, 2009



  • Fluffhead
  • Divided Sky
  • Chalk Dust Torture
  • Sample In A Jar
  • Stash
  • I Didn’t Know
  • Oh Kee Pah Ceremony >
  • Suzy Greenberg
  • Farmhouse
  • NICU
  • Horn
  • Rift
  • Train Song
  • Water In The Sky
  • Squirming Coil
  • David Bowie
  • Backwards Down The Number LIne
  • Tweezer
  • Taste
  • Possum
  • Theme From The Bottom
  • First Tube
  • Harry Hood
  • Waste
  • You Enjoy Myself
  • Grind  (a capella)
  • Bouncing Around The Room
  • Loving Cup


Hampton Coliseum


  • Set One
  • Back On The Train
  • Runaway Jim
  • Brian & Robert
  • Split Open and Melt
  • Heavy Things
  • Punch You In The Eye
  • Gumbo
  • Reba
  • Mexican Cousin
  • It’s Ice
  • Halley’s Comet
  • Beauty of a Broken Heart (1st time)
  • Guelah Papyrus
  • Lawn Boy
  • Run Like An Antelope
  • Rock & Roll
  • Limb by Limb
  • Story of the Ghost
  • Piper
  • Birds of a Feather
  • Wolfman’s Brother
  • Prince Caspian
  • Mike’s Song >
  • I Am Hydrogen >
  • Weekapaug Groove
  • Character Zero
  • A Day In The Life

Hampton Coliseum
SUNDAY MARCH 8th, 2009


  • Sanity
  • Wilson
  • Foam
  • Bathtub Gin
  • Undermind
  • AC/DC Bag
  • My Friend, My Friend
  • Scent of a Mule
  • All Of These Dreams
  • Maze
  • She Thinks I Still Care
  • Army of One
  • Tube
  • Cars Trucks Buses
  • Free
  • Frankenstein (Page on Keytar)
  • Down With Disease
  • Seven Below
  • The Horse >
  • Silent In The Morning
  • Twist
  • 2001
  • Moma Dance
  • While My Guitar Gently Weeps
  • Wading In The Velvet Sea
  • Slave To The Traffic Light
  • Contact
  • Bug
  • Tweezer Reprise

Dead C

Located in Seattle, Dead C is the founder/editor, as well as the principal writer and photographer, of Monster Fresh. Creating the site in 2007, he did so with a specific dream in mind. Unfortunately, being a muscle relaxer-fueled fever dream, it's hard to recall all of the details. "I remember that my mom was there, but it wasn't actually her in the dream, it was actually 70s heart throb, Jan Michael Vincent. And everything took place here, in this room... but it wasn't actually here... it was different. The colors were washed out and, for some reason, there was a raccoon kicking it with us and it was wearing a holographic monocle."

More Posts - Website - Twitter - Facebook - Flickr - YouTube